Gamertag
Password

    Remember Me
Forgot Password | Register
GamertagPics
Home
REGISTER NOW
Search Gamers
Bloggers
Xbox Game Reviews
Xbox Games Directory
Xbox Articles
Forums

Reviews

Game Score
Community Score
No Ratings

'Fallout' falls off the awesome-wagon

Written By: DOOMSDAY PYRO
Posted On: 12/10/2008 10:58 PM

Rate this Game
You must login to use this feature
Bethesda made Oblivion (I love Oblivion), so I figured they couldn't go wrong when they made Fallout 3. And it's a great game, indeed...as a whole. I love that it's so much like Oblivion, but with a completely different theme. It's majorly fun, and you can totally control your character's gender, physical looks, personality, alignment, and destiny. But while the storyline is awesome and I think they did a great job with the new combat system and weapons, there are just way too many bugs and shortcomings.

To be fair, I've actually been playing Fallout 3 more than any other game for the past two weeks. So it is definitely good. Really good. But the constant freezing and crashing, glitches, and limitations can be extremely annoying.

I think the thing I hate the most is that you can only rank up to Level 20. In Oblivion, I don't even know how many levels there are, but I've gotten way the hell past 20. With Fallout, you can only earn so much XP and then it says your XP is maxed out and you're done ranking up. You can keep playing and doing quests, of course, but it still sucks. Why? It sucks bad because as you level up, you get to choose from a huge list of really awesome perks. And after getting up to Level 20, I'd only gotten to try out about a third of the perks. And that makes me feel like I didn't get everything I wanted out of the game. Why dangle candy in front of someone if they can't have it? Some of my friends got the perks I didn't, and vice versa, so. It just seemed a little unfair since I paid 60 bucks so I could play the WHOLE game.
 
Maybe Bethesda should stick to their element and get back to work on the Elder Scrolls series. 'Cause it felt to me like they did 'enough' with Fallout 3 to make it decent RPG, and then just got...lazy.
Review Comments
PlasmicMeteor
PlasmicMeteor said at 06/07/2013 06:56 PM
I would say that it is a good thing to not be able to get ALL the perks you want. Ever hear of making ALTS? I do it quite often.

DougToast
DougToast said at 10/19/2010 06:04 PM
I Love Fallout 3 I'll Help You Guys Just Add DougToast i have all the Achievements. :)

Alex Garcia 05
Alex Garcia 05 said at 07/06/2009 10:07 PM
This is such a badass game

Aaronalation
Aaronalation said at 06/30/2009 02:31 AM
you cant get better then this game proud to say i have every acheveiment.:)

Norfolkinaround
Norfolkinaround said at 06/04/2009 09:34 AM
Good review. Is it just me or does everyone just go on a murdering spree on this game; I can't help myself blowing civilians apart.

General Platnum
General Platnum said at 05/07/2009 11:46 PM
Just think about it you give up 60 bucks to buy a disc. At least what on this disc will keep you occupied for more 3 months while most games only give you a little less than a month. So I think it's a good idea it gives you the chance to figure out the way you want to play, kinda like real life even if you are the richest person on the planet you are lacking something and what you lack you find. After you find what it is you realize that you have to think anew(start over). So I say it's the best 60 bucks I spent on a game.

GlitchyGemini
GlitchyGemini said at 04/17/2009 07:05 AM
see, personally i kinda like fallout but.. i think its too darn confusing too me, and a thing that gets me really ticked off about the game is if you miss a few bobbleheads or something along the games quest line and you beat the game. you ahave to restart... all over again. and i think thats really stupid. honestly its a good game and all but i just don't like it as much as alot of other people

HAIL DESTR0YER
HAIL DESTR0YER said at 03/22/2009 06:51 PM
maybe if you like fuckin wizards swords and magic you shouldnt play post apocalytic rpg's. the game is flawless, unless you consider badass a flaw. you rank to 20 for now, in a month its 30. suck it up and play it again. F34LYF

BasicConduct
BasicConduct said at 02/11/2009 10:53 AM
I myzelf haven't played oblivion but i agree on the Experience deal. Why only 20 levels? Doesn't seem logical too me. well when the new DLC comes out (not the Pitt but the other one) we can go to level 30.. not a whole lot either but ah well.

Ruiner13
Ruiner13 said at 01/09/2009 11:42 AM
Level up cap is moving to 30 with the DLC that's coming out. Pretty sweet huu?

ThatsthatGuy
ThatsthatGuy said at 12/15/2008 04:36 PM
i totally agree with you pyro. im a major fan of the elder scrolls series and to be honest with you i think i actually said to myself in the store that i would try this game out because it was from the makers of oblivion so i thought it would be really good. which it is dont get me wrong, although i think bethesda should stick with the swords and magic. good review btw

xXOAXx Tempest
xXOAXx Tempest said at 12/11/2008 06:32 PM
the reason they dont give you all the perks and made it so u can only lvl to 20..is so that u will play though the game again...thus spending more time on there games...same basic idea with any game really ...how can we keep ppl playing?

WVU FTW
WVU FTW said at 12/11/2008 09:14 AM
They're already making new content. They said it would be out 'sooner than you think'. So obviously the level cap will rise. The only thing i 'didn't like' about the game was not being able to do the side quests after finishing the main quest. Even so, it makes for reply value. So does the level cap at 20. It was made on purpose so you can't get all the perks and max out all of the skills. Fallout 3 was GOTY for me for sure. It felt enough like Fallout 1, but with the awesomeness of oblivion mixed in. Masterpiece.

Top 20 Reviews for this Game
Resident Evil 5 - What Happened.
    Posted By: AnFonE on 03/24/2009
FILTHY LITTLE COG SUCKERS
    Posted By: Y2Kevin on 11/10/2008
Played one, Played em all
    Posted By: KASTOR N POLLUX on 11/18/2008
Fable ll Review
    Posted By: Owza on 11/05/2008
Love love Gears!
    Posted By: ATOMiC Kayshee on 11/08/2008
worst game ever
    Posted By: wizard peenus on 12/14/2008
Reviews Left 4 Dead
    Posted By: MGAwesome on 12/17/2008
Wow SUCKY!!!!!
    Posted By: xCoRpSe QuEeNx on 11/17/2008
RATE! Halo3!!
    Posted By: oPwrLine on 03/20/2009
Call of Duty Black ops
    Posted By: Sith Aura on 12/10/2010
COD4 ALL THE WAY!
    Posted By: WarDog2142 on 07/28/2009
Simply Addictive
    Posted By: Hello There on 11/20/2008
Just what I expected, mostly...
    Posted By: Zatanos on 11/10/2008
The Best Game Ever
    Posted By: BruhhtaL X on 07/21/2009
Kinda got WET...
    Posted By: license2thrill on 10/11/2009
Great game or GREATEST game?
    Posted By: Enzo Dragon on 12/05/2008
online multiplayer
    Posted By: MIKE ROTCHxx on 11/08/2008
THE BEST GAME EVER!!
    Posted By: Bswballr10 on 08/05/2009
Suppose I could review this shit...
    Posted By: Metallic Amy on 11/16/2009
Lost Cause 2
    Posted By: CryingFreemanYo on 06/08/2010




GamertagPics Profile Directory
A  |   B  |   C  |   D  |   E  |   F  |   G  |   H  |   I  |   J  |   K  |   L  |   M  |   N  |   O  |   P  |   Q  |   R  |   S  |   T  |   U  |   V  |   W  |   X  |   Y  |   Z
© 2003-2008 GamertagPics.com. All Rights Reserved
Home  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy  |  FAQ  |  Contact  |  Xbox Live Games Directory  |  Sitemap
Xbox Live Gamerscore Leaderboard